“Elaenia” a timeless release

Elaenia Sam Shepherd‘ s debut album Elaenia is out now on Floating Points.

The project involves collaborations with guitarist Alex Reeve (multi-instrumental based in London with the eclectic band Hejira), drummers Leo Taylor (Hot Chips) and Tom Skinner, Mulatu Astatke and House Master Matthew Herbert. They’ve crafted a gloomy, meticulous album.

The opening track “Nespole” is a beatless techno cut. The melody is a breathtaking  assortment synth lines  intermingling to create a retro-futuristic science fiction feel. The best track, in our opinion, however is “Thin Air”  which just makes you wanna shout out “fuck, yeah”!